December 9, 2022
5:24 am
Educate, Connect and Empower

Today’s Distinguished Visitors

GEN (Ret) JUNG, Seung Jo, President, Korea-US Alliance Foundation (KUSAF)
YU, Myung Hwan, KUSAF Board Director, (former MOFA)
LIM, Young-ran, KUSAF Board Member, TV Drama Writer
LEE, Joo Yeon, KUSAF Board Member, CEO Pigeon Inc.
LEE, Kun Soo, KUSAF Honorary Chairman, Chairman of Dong Ah Elecomm Corp.
PARK, Sun-hoo, KUSAF Board Member CEO, IF DESIGN Co.
MG (Ret) LEE, Seo Young, Korea Defense Veterans Association(KDVA), Korea Chapter President, former Defense Attaché to US
MG (Ret) SHIN, Kyoung Soo, KUSAF Secretary General, (former Defense Attaché to US)
KIM, Don/US, KUSAF Hawaii President Former President SONY Hawaii
CHAN, Annie/US, KUSAF Hawaii, Honorary Chairperson, Founder of KCR Development Inc.
CHANG, Amanda/US, KUSAF Hawaii, Vice President, Attorney, CCIPN Attorneys of Counsel
LEE, Gwang Suk, KUSAF Hawaii, Board Member, KAFSP, Secretary General
KIM, Joo Yong, KMPVA, Director General, Visiting Scholar, APCSS
CAPT Oh, Soonkun (Soon), Defense Attaché, ROK Honolulu Consulate General

  • Time: 10 a.m.
  • Location: CCR
  • Host: Director
In Their Own Words: Fellows describe their DKI APCSS experience

Our Team

  • Dean of Business Operations
  • Library
  • Executive Office Group
  • Regional Engagement Operations
  • Resource Management
  • Admissions
  • Human Resources
  • Dean of College
  • Miemie Winn Byrd
    Lt. Col. U.S. Army (Ret.)
    Ed.D. Professor
  • Alfred Oehlers
    Ph.D. - Professor
  • Shyam Tekwani
  • Alexander Vuving
    Alexander Vuving
    Ph.D. - Professor
  • Dr. Virginia Bacay Watson
    Virginia Bacay Watson
    Ph.D. - Professor
  • William A. Wieninger
    Ph.D. Professor
  • Deon V. Canyon, Ph.D., DBA, MPH, FACTM
    Deon K. Canyon
    Ph.D., DBA, MPH, FACTM
  • James M. Minnich
    Colonel U.S. Army (Ret.)
    Ed.D., A.M., MMAS Professor
  • Michael C. Burgoyne
    Lt. Col. U.S. Army (Ret.)
    Sungmin Cho
    Ph.D. Professor
  • J. Lumpy Lumbaca
    Lt. Col., U.S. Army (Ret.) Professor
  • Wade Turvold
    Captain, U.S. Navy (Ret.)
  • Ethan Allen
    Ph.D. Professor
  • Sam Mullins
    Ph.D. Professor
  • Elizabeth Kunce
    Ph.D. Professor
  • Inez Miyamoto
    Ph.D. Professor
  • Srini Sitaraman
    Ph.D. Professor
  • Howard C. Eyth
    Lt. Col. U.S. Marine Corps
    Military Professor
  • Timothy Buehrer
    Ph.D. - Professor
  • Sebastian Kevany
    Associate Professor
  • Matt Tweed
    Maj., U.S. Marine Corps
    Operations Officer, College of Security Studies
  • Michael C. Long
    Captain, U.S. Coast Guard
    Military Professor
  • Richard R. Vuylsteke
    Richard R. Vuylsteke
    Ph.D. - Professor
  • Steven D. Stowers
    Commander, U.S. Coast Guard
    Military Professor
  • Jeffery C. Higgins
    Lt. Col., U.S. Army
    Army War College Fellow
  • Liam A. Connel
    Commander, U.S. Navy
    Military Professor
  • Esther Kim
    Major, U.S. Air Force
    Military Fellow
  • Jon Warr
    Lt. Col., U.S. Army
    Army War College Fellow
  • Tia Ahlf
    Major, U.S. Air Force
    Military Fellow
  • Jacqueline L. Hearne
    Lt. Col., U.S. Army
    Military Professor
  • Tony W. Smith
    Major, U.S. Army Reserve
    Army Fellow
  • Afua O. Boahema-Lee
    Major, U.S. Army
    Military Fellow
  • Henry Saito
    Captain, U.S. Navy
    Military Professor
  • Matthew R. Kent
    Colonel, U.S. Army
    Associate Dean, College of Security Studies
  • John E. Reiss
    Editor, College of Security Studies
  • DKI APCSS Director Peter A. Gumataotao
    Peter A. Gumataotao
    Rear Admiral (Ret.), U.S. Navy
  • Faculty
  • James T. Hirai
    Deputy Director
    James T. Hirai
    Brigadier General (Ret.), U.S. Army
  • Staff
  • Dean of Academics
    Carleton R. Cramer
    Captain (Ret.) U.S. Navy
  • Leadership
  • Dean, Admissions and Business Operations
    Richard F. Sears
    Captain (Ret.) U. S. Navy
  • Gene Richards
    Colonel, U.S. Army
    Senior Military Official
    Senior Military Professor
  • Development Advisor
    Lori Forman
    Ph.D. Professor
  • Senior Diplomatic Fellow
    B. Seth Bailey
    Senior Diplomatic Fellow
Our Team


Vietnam’s Approach to China: Bamboo Diplomacy with Neo-tributary Characteristics

This article discusses China’s efforts in strengthening China-Vietnam relations and Vietnam’s use of bamboo diplomacy to keep China at arm’s length without coming across as an adversary. According to Vuving, Vietnam’s Communist Party chief, Nguyen Phu Trong, used bamboo as a metaphor to advocate for a foreign policy “that combines flexibility in tactics and firmness in principles, thus resulting in resilience.”

IPOC 22-2 Gives U.S. Security Practitioners New Perspective

Throughout the week, lectures from Center faculty shed light on the factors contributing to the Indo-Pacific's dynamic security environment. The Fellows received a comprehensive overview of the Indo-Pacific's sub-regions. The lectures also covered good governance, cooperation, rules-based order, and the various security spheres (traditional military security, economic security, cyber security, maritime security, and climate security).

103 Fellows from 35 Countries Graduate CSC 22-3

The Daniel K. Inouye Asia Pacific Center for Security Studies completed the third iteration of the Comprehensive Security Cooperation (CSC) course. The program brought together 103 Fellows from over 35 countries located in the Indo-Pacific region and beyond. Held from September 21 to October 26, CSC [...]

Politics by Numbers: Counting Plato’s Shadows

James Sullivan is currently a non-resident Visiting Scholar at the Daniel K. Inouye Asia Pacific Center for Security Studies and is pursuing an ALM in International Relations from Harvard Extension School. His paper analyzes China's use of tone when addressing various security issues relevant to the Indo-Pacific region. His paper [...]

The stories posted here are only excerpts. Please go to our website to read the full articles.