Five employees and one departmental team of the Daniel K. Inouye Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies were honored May 3 at the 63rd Honolulu-Pacific Federal Executive Board Excellence in Federal Government Awards ceremony at Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickam Officer’s club.

DKI APCSS Director Pete Gumataotao and Deputy Director Jim Hirai were on hand to congratulate and support their team.

“Attending the FEB Awards last week, was a total inspiration for me,” explained Director Gumataotao. “Firstly, it underscores the talent and commitment by our people working tirelessly to make a positive difference. Congratulations to all the 2019 FEB Awardees and a particular shout-out to the phenomenal professionals at DKI APCSS who were recognized during this phenomenal event.

“Also, want to express my sincere gratitude to the Honolulu-Pacific Federal Executive Board for making this inspiring event possible,” continued Director Gumataotao. “Bravo Zulu for your commitment to providing a venue where leaders are given a platform to celebrate and honor their people.”

The DKI APCSS award recipients have diverse skill sets and talents, but teamwork is the common thread that runs throughout the organization. The DKI APCSS Public Affairs team continually flexes to accommodate technological growth, along with a mission replete with special projects and photographer Joe Rini, Federal Employee of the Year (Professional, Administrative, and Technical), is a valued member of that team.

“It is good to be working for an organization that points out the people that are doing the hard work, even though some of us don’t expect it, or strive to get noticed,” said Rini, photographer in the public affairs office. “It feels good to be recognized at that level.”

Since standing up in 2008, the DKI APCSS Travel department’s mission has evolved and adapted to meet the critical needs of a robust regional engagement operations program, and Tech Sgt. Alicia Clark is an integral part of that team.

“I feel honored that I would be selected by my department,” explained Clark. “This award is unique because this is a unique place. Everybody in my office has been there longer than I have, and they trained me on everything I’ve learned since I’ve been here. So, having their support.. I couldn’t have done it without them.”

  1. Federal Leader/Supervisor/Manager of the Year – Mr. Mike Hogan (Facilities)
  2. Federal Employee of the Year (Professional, Administrative, and Technical) – Mr. Joseph Rini (PAO)
  3. Federal Employee of the Year (Clerical and Assistant) – Tech Sgt. Alicia Clark (Travel)
  4. Federal Employee of the Year (Trades and Crafts) – Not Applicable
  5. Exceptional Community Service – Mr. David Shanahan (CSS)
  6. Mentor of the Year – Dr. Saira Yamin (CSS)
  7. Team Excellence – Dr. Alfred Oehlers (CSS)

For over 60 years, outstanding federal employees working in Honolulu – Pacific Federal Executive Board (HPFEB) agencies have been recognized at an annual awards ceremony. The ceremony is held jointly with an EXPO, where federal benefit and other partners staff booths to educate employees on their offerings and benefits and corresponds to Public Service Employee Recognition Week, nationally.

The HPFEB uses this event to:

  • Celebrate the innovation and quality of work performed by employees by honoring and presenting awards in seven categories.
  • Learn about other agencies’ best practices.
  • Promote the excellent work of federal agencies.

Each awardee is recognized with a certificate by a local military or government leader. Each FEB agency may nominate one candidate for each of the seven award categories (the Team Excellence Category typically includes multiple awardees). There is no selection board at the FEB level. Selections are prioritized at the agency level when nominations are submitted.

Team Excellence – DKI APCSS Strategy Team Col. Jeff Coulon (center) accepted the award on behalf of his team. Ali Messiah (left) and Jo Gardiner (right) were also part of the team.

Mike Hogan

Federal Supervisor of the Year – Mike Hogan, Chief of Facilities Branch

Federal Employee of the Year (Professional, Administrative, Technical) – Joe Rini, Photographer, Public Affairs Office

Federal Employee of the Year (Clerical and Assistant) – Tech Sgt. Alicia Clark, Travel Department

Exceptional Community Service – Mr. Dave Shanahan, College of Security Studies

Mentor of the Year – Dr. Saira Yamin, College of Security Studies

These top-performing employees were selected by their department heads and DKI APCSS leadership for their significant contributions to the mission of the Center.