The Daniel K. Inouye Asia-Pacific Center for Security honored four individuals and one team at the 2024 Honolulu Pacific Federal Executive Awards ceremony at the 68th Annual Excellence in Federal Government Awards Program held May 10, 2024, at Hickam Air Force Base.

This year’s DKI APCSS awardees are:

  • Federal Employee of the Year (Leader, Supervisor, Manager): Sila Pang – College of Security Studies (CSS), College Operations
  • Federal Employee of the Year (Professional, Administrative, Technical): Paul Santos – Human Resources
  • Federal Employee of the Year (Clerical and Assistant): Jennifer Hayslett – Travel
  • Mentor of the Year: Mike Bucher – CSS
  • Team Excellence: Resource Management team

“Being nominated for and receiving this Team Achievement Award is a testament to the collective effort, collaboration, and strong professional bonds within our Team,” said U.S. Navy Commander Jacob Baker, Resource Management Department head. “It acknowledges our hard work, innovative thinking, and commitment to excellence across various logistics disciplines. This recognition is truly appreciated, inspiring us to pursue excellence in everything we undertake.”

“What this award means to me is that I work with and represent a great team of professionals who work harmoniously together in support of a great mission,” said Paul Santos of the HR team.

The Excellence in Federal Government Awards Program allows organizations to recognize high-level contributors and the best in public service. For more than 60 years, outstanding federal employees working in Honolulu – Pacific Federal Executive Board (HPFEB) agencies have been recognized at an annual awards ceremony. The ceremony corresponds to Public Service Employee Recognition Week nationally.

The HPFEB Excellence in Government awards allow HPFEB Member Agencies to celebrate the innovation and quality of work performed by federal agencies and employees. It also allows others to learn about best practices from partner agencies and promotes the excellent work of federal agencies and their top performers.