APCSS Group photo of the awardees.

The APCSS leadership, award winners and supporting staff pose for a group photo after the ceremony.

HONOLULU — Today, 13 Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies (APCSS) employees were recognized at the Honolulu-Pacific Federal Executive Board’s (FEB) 57th Annual Excellence in Federal Government Awards luncheon held at the Hickam Air Force Base Officers Club.

The annual luncheon honors employees from many government agencies in Hawaii for their outstanding efforts, dedication, and contribution to the workforce and community. Each employee was selected by his or her organization.

APCSS’ Regional Engagements Operations Department (REOD) (formerly Conference Support) was awarded for Team Excellence at the luncheon.  Chief of REOD Lenore Patton explains why they were successful.

“There is an old African tribal proverb which I put my own spin to which goes ‘Do it alone you can go fast, do it as a team you can go far’.  Whether handling multilateral workshops, back-to-back visits, or special events, the team in the Regional Engagement Operations Department is a testament to taking it far…both literally and figuratively! We do this by collaborating through months of planning, putting their heads together to streamline processes, and working shoulder-to-shoulder through the long hours of hard work. Combine this with the fact that they all genuinely appreciate and respect each other and you get a great team that I’m so proud to be a part of.”

The APCSS awardees for 2012 are:

    • Team Excellence:  Regional Engagements Operations Department (formerly known as Conference Support)  – Ms. Lenore Patton, Army Maj. Analisa Larkin, Mr. Terrence Slattery, Ms. Cherrielynn Kamahele, Ms. Lynne Yamashita, Ms. Doris Dyogi, Ms. Elizabeth Leong and Ms. Chelsie Hayles.  
    • Federal Employee of the Year (Clerical/Assistant):  Marine Corps Sgt. Jared Ching (Human Resources Department) 
    • Federal Employee of the Year (Professional/Admin/Tech):  Ms. Josefa Brettler (Alumni Division)
    • Federal Leader/Supervisor/Manager of the Year: Marine Corps Maj. Douglas Krugman (College of Security Studies)
    • Exceptional Community Service: Ms. Tessie Magaoay (Network Technology Division)
    • Mentor of the Year: Navy Lt. Cmdr. Ryan Perry (Procurement and Supply Division)

Director of APCSS retired Air Force Lt. Gen. Dan “Fig” Leaf was a presenter for the ceremony and had this to say about the event.

“The FEB Awards Ceremony was a great chance to recognize civilian and military, individual and team accomplishments” explained Leaf.  “Their excellence inspires me and serves as a stellar example of effective governance for our Fellows and participants.  I am proud to serve with the APCSS Ohana.”

The Federal Executive Boards (FEBs) were created by Presidential Directive in 1961 to foster communication, coordination and collaboration among Federal field agencies. FEBs build interagency partnerships and community involvement to create and nurture working relationships that address issues of shared interest. Currently, approximately 88% of Federal employees are located outside the Washington, DC area. Across the nation, in 28 locations with a high concentration of Federal agencies and Federal employees, FEBs provide a forum for local Federal leaders to share management challenges and strategies to meet agency missions and goals, identify common issues, develop collaborative efforts to address those issues, and share best practices among their peers.

The Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies is a Department of Defense academic institute that addresses regional and global security issues.  Military and civilian representatives of the U.S. and Asia-Pacific nations participate in our comprehensive program of executive education, professional exchanges and outreach events, both in Hawaii and throughout the Asia-Pacific region. APCSS’ mission is to educate, connect, and empower security practitioners to advance Asia-Pacific security.

See more photos of the ceremony on the APCSS Facebook page.