APCSS Group Web

The APCSS Team poses for a group photo Feb. 18, 2011

HONOLULU – Asia-Pacific Center for Security employees will be recognized at the Honolulu-Pacific Federal Executive Board’s (FEB) 54th Annual Excellence in Federal Government Awards luncheon being held at the Sheraton Waikiki April 21.

The annual luncheon honors employees from many government agencies in Hawaii for their outstanding efforts, dedication, and contribution to the workforce and community. Each employee was selected by his organization.

The APCSS awardees for 2011 are:

  • Team Excellence: CSS Course Management Team
  • Ms. Miemie Byrd
  • Dr. James Campbell
  • Maj Brian Middleton, U.S. Marine Corps
  • Lt. Col. Michael Mollohan, U.S. Marine Corps
  • Dr. Justin Nankivell
  • Ms. Kerry Nankivell
  • Lt. Col. Ronald Sargent, U.S. Army
  • Cmdr. P.J. Tech, U.S. Navy
  • Cmdr. Christopher Van Avery, U.S. Navy
  • Dr. William Wieninger


  • Federal Employee of the Year (Clerical/Assistant): Ms. Robin Burrell
  • Federal Employee of the Year (Professional/Admin/Tech): Ms. Robin Wong
  • Federal Supervisor of the Year/Manager of the Year: Mr. Richard F. Sears
  • Leader of the Year: Lt. Cmdr. Damian Clem, U.S. Navy
  • Exceptional Community Service: Mr. David Shanahan
  • Mentor of the Year: Mr. Carleton Cramer

The Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies is a Department of Defense academic institute that addresses regional and global security issues. Military and civilian representatives of the U.S. and Asia-Pacific nations participate in our comprehensive program of executive education, professional exchanges and outreach events, both in Hawaii and throughout the Asia-Pacific region. APCSS’ mission is to educate, connect, and empower security practitioners to advance Asia-Pacific security.